The adventure of a dream

People don’t realise it sometimes, but dreams are really important. They give us hope, and something to pursue in our everyday lives. But I read somewhere that it’s only when you turn your dreams into a goal, that it becomes real. I guess that’s true. Small, little steps, goals that will take you to your dream.

Everyone has dreams, right? It’s when you get all excited about the future. But the world has a thing for putting down dreams. Which is really kinda frustrating! I mean, people will tell you that you’re not good enough, or this dream won’t work, or some other guano, but really, no one can ever stop you from having a dream and you should stick to it no matter what. Because the people who are strong enough, disciplined enough, willing to do whatever it takes, these are the people who get their ‘dream came true’ ending.

I nearly gave up on my dream to write a story. You see, here in Singapore, NO one, ever, writes books. Nothing artsy fartsy ever is expected from a society like Singapore. When people ask me, “So, Rachel, what do you want to be in the future?” and I’ll say, “Oh, well, I was kinda thinking of being an author.”

They’d give me this look, which plainly says, “right…” and I know no one believes that I can ever do something like that. Hah, even you, whoever’s reading this might go, “Pah! and author? Who the hell does she think she is? No one’ll buy your books in Singapore!”

It really got to me. I wrote less and less, and it came from a point where I used to think about my story all the time to not even giving it a thought at all. Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t given up on it yet. My characters are a part of me…somehow. It’s like all these different personalities I have, sorted out properly for once in my life. And the world that they live in is sort of like an escape, where I can create new things for them and myself to explore. And when my characters know more about themselves, so do I know more about myself.

But it’s on a hold, since I’ve got major exams this year, and my parents have been pretty much unsupportive of this whole writing thing. When they see me at my computer madly typing away, I know they think I’m being distracted and they’ll scream at me to go to my room and study. I remember one time when my Dad told me to set my priorities right, really, really fiercely, and I cried the whole night because to me, this story is everything that I am, I put so much time and work into it, I filled up stacks of notes, pages of ideas on the story. I spent hours just typing, days daydreaming, talking to my characters. It became a part of who I was. And that wasn’t something i could just throw away. No one will ever understand what it is like, unless you sacrifice so much for a dream, and when someone tells you that it’s stupid and useless, and that you’ve got better things you need to be doing, it hurts because you know they’re wrong.

I’m not saying that my parents aren’t supportive. They’re just more on the practical side. they’re adults. Adults don’t understand dreams. They think on the safe side, they are calculative, you know, like, I shouldn’t be spending so much time on this when I know it’s probably not going to be a success, kind of thoughts. I hope I never become one.

Image

life is a merry-go-round, just not that merry

    My point is this. Don’t ever give up on your dream, whoever you are. And if you don’t have one, find one! Let yourself go on an adventure of a lifetime, and only let yourself go when you’ve tried EVERY thing that you possibly can do for that dream. Only then can you allow yourself to give up. And then you can go ahead and find another one.

Leave a Reply

