Exploration Log 7/7/13

Image

Something’s wrong with my house again. I don’t know, maybe it’s got something to do with the really tense atmosphere. And also the fact that my parents haven’t said anything to each other since I came home last night. I think they quarreled, and this isn’t the first time. I guess this is my version of running away, because I just don’t want to be anywhere near them when they’re like this.

This is why I like cycling, it’s a chance to get out and feel the wind in your face, a chance to look around, explore new places you’ve never gone before, but better, because you’d be on a set of wheels. And it feels like the wind is blowing all your problems away.

5:46pm

I followed this monk down a pathway that led into this deserted road, surrounded by lush greenery. and there was this murky stream that ran through the greenery, and I watched the monk look out at the stream before he turned around and left the way I came. So I went to the spot where he stood and saw this small patch of land and it looked as if someone had lived there once. There was a clothes rack made of bamboo (with no clothes), a yellow stool hanging on the railing, some pails, and tins hanging from trees.

And someone had tied two red strings onto the branches of a papaya tree. Isn’t that like some sort of ghost/charm/curse thingy? It felt kind of spooky, but maybe that was just because I was watching another episode of ‘My Ghost Story Caught On Video ‘ on Bio Channel this afternoon.

Image

Oh, and underneath that tree, someone had placed two socks on the railings and a plastic jar full of biscuits, sweets, chocolates and other treats. That gave me some goosebumps as well, for some reason. What if that place was like some sort of offering site or something? Or maybe someone had placed that jar there, meant for stuff not of this world.

Image

Sock and jar

6:03pm

Image

The small farm

Went back out to the main road and found another road that I’d never gone down before. It led to a construction site beside a mosque. But I was really surprised to find a small farm that was tended by this really old, hunched lady in a purple floral shirt. I mean, a farm in the middle of a busy neighbourhood? No way. But it was there, and I really wanted to talk to her to find out more about what she was doing. But I got chased out by the construction site manager.

I don’t think i would have had the guts to anyway, so.

6:50pm

Now that I’m back at home, I just can’t wait to get out again. Seriously, the tension is killing me. Sigh…. I don’t know what I’m supposed to do. I guess I’ll just be switzerland.

It’s not wrong is it…? I just really don’t want to get myself into any trouble again.

Okay, who am I kidding. I feel horrible.

Leave a Reply

