Fairy Tale

20130711-160159.jpg

So I’m now taking a break from painting and I’m listening to my iTunes. It’s just been a long time since a Chinese song popped up on my shuffle list. I really really love this song, 童话 (fairy tale),which is probably the only Chinese song I actually listen to (my Chinese is beyond helpless). Although I’m not exactly a fan of Chinese songs, I think it is true that Chinese lyrics can be really beautiful sometimes.
I tried translating the lyrics into English, I don’t think I did it justice. But I’m on my break now, so I can do whatever I want.

Tong Hua

I’ve forgotten how long it’s been
Since I’ve heard you tell me about your favourite fairy tale.

I’ve been thinking a lot…
I’m starting to forget…
Have I done something wrong?

You cried and said to me
That Those stories are all lies
I can’t possibly be your prince

Or maybe you didn’t know
That from the time you said you loved me
The stars in my sky began to light up

I’m willing to become the angel of the story that you loved
I open my arms and they turn into wings to protect you
You must believe, believe that we will be like the stories that you read
And that we’ll have a happy ending

Is life a fairy tale? I’d like to think so. We’re all characters in some huge story, and you’re the main character in yours.
Some people don’t believe in happy endings. They’d like to think ‘realistically’. So what, They’d like you to believe that you’ll remain a sad, depressed prune all your life?
Maybe it’s because we’ve suffered too much disappointment to still believe in happy endings.
But the believing part’s the most important bit, I guess, because if you don’t believe, you don’t even stand a chance!

Anyway, in the music video, the girl dies in the end. (I almost cried watching it T.T) Which is kind of ironic. But I think it’s the whole, ‘you’ll remain forever in my heart’ part that makes it a happy ending.

Okay, back to painting.

Leave a Reply

