Sunlight

20130728-193807.jpg

I love it when the sun is low and it looks like golden threads are falling down into the earth.

And I love walking on grass at these times, when everything is crisp and golden and it feels as if I’m in a dream.

And the air is warm against my skin, and the wind is blowing softly, and bits of blue from the sky seeps through the sunlight.

And the sun makes the motes of dust so pretty, and you can only appreciate them at the time when the sun is like this. You can see them float like fairy dust!

Oh and people! When the sun shines at you at this time, your eyes become clearer and the most brilliant shade of brown, and you can see gold specks in your eyes when you smile. And your hair turns a warm honey colour even though it’s dull and black most of the day.

And the windows of houses will reflect the sun and the whole city will sparkle. I know because I can see it from my room way up high.

I call this time the ‘magic hour’, when everything just becomes ten times better than they were for the rest of the day.

It happens twice everyday. One in the morning when the sun comes up and one in the evening when it says goodbye.

It’s when the world looks like this that I don’t mind being alone for a while just to take in how beautiful everything can be.

It’s amazing how the sun can change the way everything looks.

I read a quote by C.S. Lewis that said,
“I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.”

And I was reminded of that today.

Leave a Reply

