When serving gets tiring

I shall try to not turn this into a rant. Rants are annoying.

When serving God gets a little hard , I think it’s time I remind myself why and who I’m doing all of this for. It’s discouraging to not get responses from ushers, when not everyone puts in as much effort, and I feel extremely alone in everything I do.

When I see people not having an interest in serving, after a while, it really is a downer for me.

And slowly I find myself not caring as much, not wanting to give my all, not finding joy in what I do. It becomes instead a duty that’s expected of me rather than something I want to do.

I almost burst out my frustrations to my usher leaders. I almost typed in this:

If no one wants to have an usher day then there’s no point in putting so much effort into organising something people don’t even want to go to.

But I didn’t. And I’m sure something inside of me, that small quiet voice told me not to.

I talked to bro john about this, and he told me not to say anything in anger because I’d regret it.

Honestly, I am really tired of people treating ushering as something small and something stupid and useless. I hate it when people see it as a burden. And I get really angry because of that.

And then I adopt that attitude of “what’s the point” and hopelessness.

I ask questions like “Why am I putting in so much effort for people who don’t care about it at all?”

But then I realise, I’m not doing this for them, I’m doing this for God.

And that makes all the difference.

Colossians 3:23 Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for The Lord not for men.

Leave a Reply

