Prayer

Just started on a book Bro John lent me. It’s called ‘Too busy not to pray’ with the NOT highlighted. 

I’m not really the best when it comes to prayer. Well, okay no one’s the best in prayer, but I’m not very good at it. The book starts off saying that prayer is unnatural. 

I haven’t been praying much of lately. You know, sometimes you just feel that since God knows everything, it’s not that much of a big deal to tell Him about your day or how you feel and your little everyday problems. And it gets worse when the day feels like a race for time.

Now that holidays have started, I’ve all the time in the world! But…somehow it’s still a struggle. To find time to just be still in His presence.

This morning instead of slacking around on the internet, I decided to read the book a little.

After the first chapter, I flopped onto my couch, grabbed a pillow and closed my eyes. 

And I told God about how i’ve been feeling the entire month.

My worries. My doubts. My insecurities. My disappointments. My hopes. 

 

The book reminded me of how much God wants to hear me. How much happiness it would bring Him if I made the effort to talk to Him. Of course I want to make God happy! I forgot that these little things bring Him great joy. The effort. Obedience. Wanting Him to be a part of your life. That makes Him twirl a ballerina spin in Heaven. (Metaphorically I guess, I think God has better ways of showing His joy ahaha).

Why is it so easy to forget a love so great? Because we take it for granted? Because it’s always there, and we forget about the difference that it makes?

He reminded me of how much He has given me. How I’m looking in all the wrong places for all the wrong things. How important thankfulness is. When you’re thankful, a lot of things don’t matter anymore, and emptiness becomes fullness when you remember Him. 

The best part about prayer isn’t getting what you prayed about, or feeling good because you managed to do yet another spiritual discipline. It’s getting closer to God and letting Him draw closer to you.

I think when I keep that point in mind, I realise how important and how much it means to take some time to just talk.

 

 

Leave a Reply

