Choose something greaterre

Sometimes I feel like it’s right to not say something that’s right.

People are tired of having rules and stuff in their face all the time. They know they’re there. But they hate it when people say it to their face, what they should do, what they shouldn’t do.

I mean, if someone tells you something they believe in and practice, you can’t just tell them that it’s wrong and they shouldn’t.

They wouldn’t even want to talk to you anymore.

Maybe sometimes instead of shining light onto the world we make it so glaring that people are repelled by the idea of it. Or maybe the world has really just become that much of a darker place.

It’s quite sad how religion is something that the world is so replused by. Christians are catagorised as backward, self-righteous, hateful, unaccepting.

And friends tell me that it’s okay to share stuff that happens spiritually as long as I don’t ‘preach’. How am I supposed to tell people about who God is when they hate the thought of it? Sometimes I just feel so frustrated, when friends tell me that they hate how life doesn’t have a purpose and yet they’re willing to settle for something that’s not worthy of living for.

And how everything loses its meaning so easily now. And how some things are so twisted from its original intent.

Love. Freedom. Sex.

When freedom is being able to do whatever you want, when love is just a fluttery feeling. When sex becomes just a fling of fun.

And when God becomes a cold, unappealing, centuries-old rule book.

When people ask me what to do, I just end up saying that these things have as much value and meaning as you want them to, hoping that they’d choose something greater, but I never ever see that.

I wonder how God feels, every time we choose something He wishes so desparately that we wouldn’t. A thousand times worse than what I do. A hundred thousand.

Leave a Reply

