Why do you love

For the love of Christ controls us, because we have concluded this: that one has died for all, therefore all have died; and he died for all, that those who live might no longer live for themselves but for him who for their sake died and was raised.

(2 Corinthians 5:14, 15 ESV)

I was watching a sermon by John piper last night, and he questioned everyone on why they loved God. Do they praise and worship God because they know that in doing so they will be lifted, or do they desire to be lifted because they know that in being so, they will glorify God? 

Glory is a strange thing. Something that the human mind can hardly wrap itself around. The only glory we are familiar with is in compliments, approval and honour. But God’s glory is more than that, it involves loving us. He is glorified in His love. 

There’s also a difference in being amazed at God when we think of Him serving us.

“Wow, God, is serving us?”

“Wow, God is serving us?”

Being amazed that our God is a God that serves is different from loving that He serves us.

Our hearts should ache at the thought of our God serving, though He is God He is King! 

Our joy should be found in who God is, rather than who God makes us

I think we all have our own dangers and what we find joy in. Some people love how God gives us health, wealth, love. But it’s still all about us. And not Him.

For me, my danger is loving God not because he is God, but because it makes me feel important, like I have some worth in this world, like I’m of value.

Of course it’s true that He gives me worth and that He gives me value, but that doesn’t mean that that’s the reason why I love God. Because underneath it all, it’s still all about me being raised higher, being important. 

I should want to be raised higher so that I can raise God higher. And through that, and only in doing so, may I find the true joy of serving my purpose in what I was created for, glorifying God, enjoying who God is.

There is no other joy than doing so.

Loving God is all about loving who He is

And I was wondering this morning if the same concept applies to people. 

Loving people not because of what they can bring us or how much they love us, but loving people because of who they are.

I was wondering if it was even possible, because we are all ugly, we are full of imperfections, full of sin, and I thought it rather blind at first. That’s how girls end up with abusive boyfriends and still want to stick by them no matter what because they love them ‘for who they are’. But maybe they too love not the man himself but the relationship and the worth it gives. I’m not too sure.

What does it mean to love someone for who they are? Who are they? Is it just on personality? Things that are good about them? But all these things too fade, people change, people aren’t always the same, people will always have things about them that you absolutely can’t stand. 

Than what can we rely on? To love fully, and always, something about them that doesn’t change.

I think I got my answer, 

We love them because they are God’s creation. God’s wonderful, intricate creations. This will never change, and we need to see them the way God sees them.

This applies to all but I’m not quite sure about romantic love because I still think there’s something different added on to that but I’ll think about that some other time.

Leave a Reply

